Posted in Poems

A Downtown Family

A Downtown Family
A 19 year old Son
A Kerosene Depot
Year 1991

Standing with his Mother
Waiting for their turn
What was about to happen
The things they never Learnt

A BSF(Border Security Force) Personnel
A Shot from his Gun
A Smile on his face
For killing an Innocent one

A dead Body Bleeding
In front of His Mother
So Cheap are our Lives
They Don’t even Bother

And as the Thunder Stroke her Heart
She fell on her Knees
Asking her Dead Son
To wake up Please

A Downtown Family
Year 1992
A 20 Year Old Daughter
In her Room-near the Closed Window-Combing her hair, What happened next, She hardly Knew

A Gun
and a Shot
Target Killing
and What Not

She fell down Silent
Without even a Scream
Her family Mourning her
and her Shattered Dreams

They were not the First
They were not the Last
It is our Present
It happened in the Past

Kashmir – Divided between India and Pakistan
Against our own will
There Law and Order
and their Catch and Kill

You turned our Paradise into a Hell
Its Time to end this Illegal Occupation
Oh! the Largest Democratic Nation
Stop this Human Rights Violation

©Liah (Irtiqa)

Author:

I’m Liah Qureshi ( My real name is Irtiqa Qureshi, I go with Liah as my pen name). Im a girl in my 20 somethings, trying my bit to make this world a better place to live in. I am a Journalist and a stick-to-radio person. I write sometimes when I think my writings can make some productive change. Apart from being a Journo and a radio freak, I work as a freelance Voice Artist, a Counselor, a Blogger, a YouTuber (this happens just sometimes and that too randomly plus i don't have a fan base or something like that on YouTube :P ), Social Activist and an Emcee too (all on an individual level). I love to study Psychology in my free time(If ever I get some). And I am Loving my Life. You can Check out my Social Media links given on this page.

Leave a Reply

