Posted in Articles

Controlling your phone or Playing with your hair??

You heard of Google Glass, it lets the users take photos by winking. Of course! You heard of Xbox Kinect, it can be controlled simply by waving. Now welcome a new technology a product called Hairware.

Hairware has now taken technology to a whole new level. Katia Vega, founder of Beauty Technology, has developed a way for women to control a smartphone by playing with their hair.

How? Lets see..

To all the ladies out there, all you need to do is wear a set of hi-tech hair extensions that blend in with your natural colour, you can stroke your hair to send a text message or twirl strands around your finger to take a selfie, for example. Sound big time fun ehn.

Far from being a gimmick, Ms Vega hopes the gadget can help women discreetly share their location or send a text if they feel threatened.

Hairware extensions have been “chemically metalized”, so when a person touches the strands, a circuit is completed and a signal is sent via a Bluetooth radio in a hairclip to a smartphone.

The phone will then perform an action depending on how many times the hair extensions have been touched; so running your fingers through your hair once could open an app, while performing the same hand movement again would open a different program. The extensions also respond to whether they are touched at the top or at the ends.

Sounds damn cool.

Wait, its not just the ladies who will have all the fun. Ms Vega is now working on a version for men – for use in beards.

“I still need to figure out the design,” said Ms Vega. “It could involve connecting a conductive beard to a clip hidden on the back of a shirt collar. Our next step is to understand male behaviour and how they relate to their beards.”

And if that was not enough we have other inventions by Beauty Technology, and the list includes fake fingernails that act as door keys and credit cards; and false eyelashes that can levitate certain objects when the wearer blinks.

All you need to do is let your imagination free.


The Author(Lia) has also posted this article on sociopool.com

Author:

I’m Liah Qureshi ( My real name is Irtiqa Qureshi, I go with Liah as my pen name). Im a girl in my 20 somethings, trying my bit to make this world a better place to live in. I am a Journalist and a stick-to-radio person. I write sometimes when I think my writings can make some productive change. Apart from being a Journo and a radio freak, I work as a freelance Voice Artist, a Counselor, a Blogger, a YouTuber (this happens just sometimes and that too randomly plus i don't have a fan base or something like that on YouTube :P ), Social Activist and an Emcee too (all on an individual level). I love to study Psychology in my free time(If ever I get some). And I am Loving my Life. You can Check out my Social Media links given on this page.

Leave a Reply

